Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

New baby alert/Detox.

Hey lovelies! My sister popped this weekend and I am now an aunt to a beautiful baby boy. Unfortunately I couldn’t be with her and haven’t met the baby but I will soon. Zachary is the first grandchild so my parents are super stoked. My mom has been hoarding buying baby clothes for years now just waiting for one of us to get knocked up. Surprisingly, it wasn’t me. Say hello to the little nugget.

 

I don’t have any funny new date stories for you. The first two dates were enough to scare me away for a bit. I do have a date planned for Friday night though. Nothing crazy because I’m currently doing a 21 day detox. Today marks the 8th day of Clean.  If you’ve been reading for a while now, you know all about my food issues. My friend, Ali, suggested I try this cleanse several months back as she had success with it. At that time, Len and I had just broken up so I wasn’t willing to give up booze and sweets. We all need coping skills, right? Bring on the whoopee pies and wine bitches.

The last several months have been off-balance for me in terms of eating and moderation. I’ve been eating like shit during the week and going away on most weekends to celebrate various occasions. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve had a damn good time but my body and mind started to suffer.

I needed to get a grip, asap. The scale continued to climb until it reached 148 last Sunday. What the hell? Something had to give.

So far the cleanse has been awesome. Caffeine free, sugar-free (other than fruits), gluten-free, alcohol free, dairy free. You get the idea. I no longer need my morning cups of coffee (though detoxing from caffeine sucked goat balls), I feels less anxious, have dropped 3 pounds and have clearer skin! We’ll see what the next 2 weeks bring. I had to laugh at myself  this morning when I discovered green smoothie outlining my lips. No wonder I’m single!

Happy Monday!

August 15, 2011 - Posted by | baby fever, Cleanse, Detox, eating disorder, Family, Food, Friends, fun

8 Comments »

  1. Good luck and congrats auntie!

    Comment by Jacqui | August 15, 2011 | Reply

  2. Aww, congrats! Being an aunt is awesome!

    Comment by Anna @ Newlywed, Newly Veg | August 15, 2011 | Reply

  3. Wow I would love to try that but not sure I can give up coffee I’m a addict congrats on being a aunt !!

    Comment by Kelli | August 15, 2011 | Reply

  4. Congratulations Auntie!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | August 15, 2011 | Reply

  5. How long did the caffeine withdrawals take? I always end up taking a tiny shot of it after 3 days or so cause the headaches are torture! How did you distract yourself?? And congrats again!

    Comment by Trina | August 15, 2011 | Reply

  6. Hey Linds! Congratulations on becoming an Aunt! I have been following Lisa’s blog and was so excited when she had Zach. I cannot wait to hear about the labor and look forward to more pics! Question for you… where did you get your tank top in that dinner pick? It is adorable! I might do this cleanse as well. I have gained like 30 lbs in the past year. 😦 Time to get a grip!

    Comment by Christina | August 15, 2011 | Reply

    • Hey Christina. The tank is from Urban last summer. I’m sure they have more like it!! Thanks for reading.

      Comment by lpskins | August 15, 2011 | Reply

  7. […] shouldn’t have bragged about my cleanse . I was defeated 2 days after my post. Oops! I lost the battle to Ben and Jerry’s ice cream […]

    Pingback by Spoke to soon. « Goodies Galore | August 21, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

