Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Marathons are no joke.

Dudes, my feet are so mangled from running it’s not even funny. The sight of these suckers could make a grown man chuck. (Trust me, you do not want an inserted picture here.) With that said, my roommate and I are running a marathon in 3 weeks.

I do not anticipate this kind of happiness.

We originally signed up for the Green Mountain Marathon on October 16th but decided we want to run the Bay State Marathon instead.  This decision was made for 3 reasons.

1) Convenience. The Bay State Marathon requires little planning and travel compared to driving to Vermont for the weekend.

2) Amount of runners. I am someone who feeds off the energy of other runners and spectators during races. I need it for fuel. The Green Mountain Marathon is tiny which means few runners and hardly any fans.

3) Hills. Vermont is not flat, Massachusetts is. Enough said.

While Melissa and I have been training, we haven’t been training enough. We essentially get 3-4 short (4 mile) runs in during the week and one long run on the weekend. I have missed at least 2 long runs secondary to being away. This past weekend we ran 18 flat miles. They were do-able, but it was hard to imagine having to run about 8.2 miles. I might kill someone.

Len and I ran a marathon back in 2008 so I know the kind of physical and mental distress marathons can cause. Around mile 17, I wanted to rip off my legs and beat the spectators with them. Although the physical pain was terrible, it was my mind that really got the best of me. I want to prepare my head this time around. Any tips?

No matter what happens, Melissa and I will finish and then bask in the glory of our hard work. I really only sign up for races for the free food anyways.

If anyone wants my bib number for the Green Mountain Marathon email me. I’m happy to hand it off.

September 26, 2011 - Posted by | Marathon Training, running

9 Comments »

  1. Never ran a marathon– I’ve run two halves…does that count?! 🙂 I thought this year might have been the year, but then I got knocked up. Le sigh.

    Comment by Anna @ On Anna's Plate | September 26, 2011 | Reply

  2. I ran the Bay State Marathon 2 years ago. Bring a light windbreaker if it could rain. Lots of folks got hypothermia that year, it was 30 degrees and raining for 4+ hours…..and then it snowed which would have been a relief.

    Also if you are feeling studly at the half way point (no better way to put this) don’t blow your load. My legs and knee quit on me around mile 18 because I thought it was a cake walk after mile 13.

    Kick ass Miss Perrone!

    -JB

    Comment by Anonymous | September 26, 2011 | Reply

    • Wait, did I know you when you ran it?? I think I remember but may be making that up. Miss you buddy.

      Comment by lpskins | September 26, 2011 | Reply

  3. You need to start practicing positive thinking and positive talk!! Focus on how much you’ve done so far and how far you’ve come!!!

    Comment by Anonymous | September 27, 2011 | Reply

    • You’re right! Thanks.

      Comment by lpskins | September 27, 2011 | Reply

  4. lindsay, it has been a long time since i saw you (gssw graduation?!) but i love your blog. and i love to run. when i ran the boston half in 09, i thought of a woman who empowers me/gives me strength at each mile. then i thought of that woman throughout the mile, sending/drawing love and strength to/from them. it made the miles go quickly and i got to think of lots of woman that inspire me! i wrote them all letters afterward. maybe you could even just do something like that for the last 8 (cuz 26 is a lot!)? i’m signed up to run a 50k in december…eek! anyways. miss laughing with you throughout classes. hope you’re well!

    Comment by Megan R. | September 27, 2011 | Reply

    • Hi Meg!! What a beautiful and thoughtful idea. Thank you darling.

      Comment by lpskins | September 27, 2011 | Reply

  5. You’ll do fine. Just get back on track with your training and get out of your own head. Good luck!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | September 28, 2011 | Reply

  6. […] holy, I was basically suicidal by the time I crossed the finish line. Melissa and I trained a decent amount and completed all of our long runs so the physical aspect wasn’t the problem. The mental […]

    Pingback by Loooooong post so get comfortable. « Goodies Galore | November 14, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

