Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Loooooong post so get comfortable.

Is it really Monday already? This is bull crap! The weekend was pretty good, however it was missing something… my sister.

Lisa and her hubby typically come to Boston for a visit this time of year but someone had to go make a baby and decide to move to Dallas. Again, bull crap.  I missed our shenanigans.

 

It’s a good thing my nephew is cute.

Anywho, let’s catch up some more, shall we?  Despite yesterdays post, you should know that I haven’t spent all my free time getting fat. Four weeks ago my roommate and I ran a marathon and yesterday we ran a half marathon.

(Stolen pic.)

The mother f-ing Marathon. 

Marathon morning started off beautifully.

We were eager to wake up and eat our standard pre-race breakfast of toast, peanut butter and banana. This meal never gets old. Of course coffee was involved to clear out the old pipes. The goal is always to avoid runners shits.

We snapped a few pics right before heading out.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This joy didn’t last very long. Three words– Never, Ever, Again.

I knew what to expect because Len and I ran a marathon in 2008 but holy crap– it was brutal. I swear on everything holy, I was basically suicidal by the time I crossed the finish line. Melissa and I trained a decent amount and completed all of our long runs so the physical aspect wasn’t the problem. The mental aspect is what ruined me. Things were going smoothly until about mile 13 when I found myself engaging in serious negative self talk. Soon I began slowing down and was unable to keep up with Melissa. We separated at that point and I started to feel very defeated. That set the mood for the remainder of the race which quite frankly, sucked goat balls.  Even my favorite tunes couldn’t rescue me. Thanks for nothing Rihanna. It’s crazy how powerful the mind can be.

**In about a year or so, when I’ve long forgotten the pain and agony that 26.2 miles did on my mind and body, please please please stop me from signing up for a 3rd marathon.

Half Marathons are way cooler

Yesterdays half marathon was a much better experience. Melissa and I signed up for the Fattman Cup Chilly Half Marathon at the last-minute as a ‘why not’  type of thing. We ran it last year and enjoyed the experience. For some reason, we didn’t put much pressure or thought into this half and had a very nonchalant and relaxed approach to running. No pre-race jitters at the start or anything. Because I was in such a bad place mentally during the marathon, I knew things could only get better. And it did. Despite it being incredibly hill,  I kept a 9.35 pace (which is great for me) and finished in 2.05. The bad news is I shit myself. Kidding.

Happy Monday!

November 14, 2011 - Posted by | Family, Food, fun, running, Uncategorized

7 Comments »

  1. […] Check out my sister’s blog. She finally updated […]

    Pingback by Team Spirit! - Pampered With Paige | November 14, 2011 | Reply

  2. Yahoo- you finished a marathon & half marathon- go girl!!!!!! Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    SO sad LP is moving, but she better be a better blogger than you- LOL – I love how you both share your self and give me the giggles. Keep on plugging and BLOGGING!!!!!!!! xox

    Comment by Debra | November 14, 2011 | Reply

    • Hi Deb!! xoxox

      Comment by lpskins | November 14, 2011 | Reply

  3. Way to go girl!! Welcome back to your blog I’ve missed your effed up humor….it’s been too long!! Love it 🙂

    Comment by Cynthia | November 14, 2011 | Reply

  4. Half marathons are twice as cool as full marathons 🙂

    Comment by runeatrepeat | November 14, 2011 | Reply

  5. Great job! The last line of this post made me shit myself 😉

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | November 17, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

