Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Codependence is for the birds.

Since Len and I broke up, I noticed something about myself that I’m not proud of: I’m struggling to be alone. Before Len and I dated, I was Miss. Feminist, a strong individual who didn’t need a relationship to feel fulfilled. Then life happened and I grew comfortable having a body next to me at night, someone who made me feel safe.  In the months since Len and I broke up, I’ve dated an assortment of people in an attempt to not face feelings of loneliness. Most recently, I’ve been in and out of a very unhealthy  4-month relationship with a complete douche bag. And believe me, douche bag is an understatement. I allowed myself to be treated poorly because the alternative was being alone and the was sure to feel worse.

Um, let’s re-read that last sentence… I allowed myself to be treated poorly because the alternative was being alone and the was sure to feel worse. Does anyone know where Lindsay went because this surely isn’t her.  The Lindsay I know would never stand mistreatment of any kind. The Lindsay I know wouldn’t allow values and beliefs to be compromised on behalf of someone else. The Lindsay I know would laugh in the face of an asshole and tell him to have a good time jerking off because he ain’t getting any of this.  The Lindsay I know is strong.

So last night I took out the trash and boy did it feel good.

 

 

Happiness is a choice we can make. In 2012, I’m going to find fulfillment in things that bring me joy, nurture my spirit and foster growth. And when loneliness rears its little head, I’ll simply smile, tell it to fuck off, and remind myself that I’m totally okay on my own.

Welcome back, sister.

January 4, 2012 - Posted by | dating, Uncategorized

21 Comments »

  1. Love. xoxoxo

    Comment by Shleigh | January 4, 2012 | Reply

  2. You are strong, amazing and beautiful! I love you xoxox

    Comment by Lindsay | January 4, 2012 | Reply

  3. Amen sister

    Comment by Anonymous | January 4, 2012 | Reply

  4. Love this!!!

    Comment by Kelli | January 4, 2012 | Reply

  5. This is awesome!!!! Good for you!

    Comment by Lacey | January 4, 2012 | Reply

  6. LP! Miss ya, and if I’m on the Eastern seaboard anytime soon and this d-bad needs an ass whoppin, you let me know

    -JB

    Comment by JB | January 4, 2012 | Reply

    • Aw JB, I miss you.

      Comment by lpskins | January 4, 2012 | Reply

  7. You go girl! Stay strong… 🙂

    Comment by Dana | January 4, 2012 | Reply

  8. We’ve all been there girl. It’s called rebounding. I did it last year after my breakup and once that was over, I adjusted my attitude and put my head back on straight. We’re all here for you!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | January 4, 2012 | Reply

    • MNibs, thanks for the love. We still have to grab that drink sometime.

      Comment by lpskins | January 4, 2012 | Reply

  9. Good for you! May 2012 bring you real happiness!

    Comment by Jacqui | January 4, 2012 | Reply

    • You too Miss thang!

      Comment by lpskins | January 4, 2012 | Reply

  10. I love ready your blog because you tell it like it is! You don’t sugar coat and life isnt always happiness and smiles. Thanks for being so honest on here – its so easy to relate to your blog!

    Comment by KLE | January 4, 2012 | Reply

  11. Good For you…now if only the rest of us could be so good to ourselves~

    Comment by Rachelle | January 4, 2012 | Reply

    • you need a pep talk?

      Comment by lpskins | January 4, 2012 | Reply

  12. I whole-heartedly agree………………….I thought that I needed to date more, so I did that a lot for about a 9 mths………well, I met a few different types of guys in a number of different forms, most were not memorable……..I had some fun but more aware of what I don’t want…………so, I’m still looking, but not falling for what I used to, I am happy with me and I want a guy that isn’t afraid to realize I am what he wants………..until then, I will continue to happily life my single life:)

    Comment by Amy | January 4, 2012 | Reply

    • “I am happy with me.” Love this.

      Comment by lpskins | January 4, 2012 | Reply

  13. You’re the best Linds!!! Like Halloran said…call him Summer’s Eve…because he is a DOUCHE! Love you to pieces!! xoxo

    Comment by Katelyn | January 4, 2012 | Reply

    • Missed you this weekend darling. xoxo

      Comment by lpskins | January 4, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

