Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Not a booze bag.

Well Hellooooooooo! Happy belated Saint Patty’s day. How’s everyone feeling? I decided to lay low this weekend to detox a bit from the past years binge  all the crap I’ve been consuming. While everyone was out drinking, I was eating loads of veggies and drinking fruit smoothies. Yeah, it was definitely as boring as it sounds. The good news is that I feel great today!

 

 

Smoothies included nothing but frozen fruit and water. Surprisingly, they weren’t too bad.

Veggie dishes included boiled cabbage and carrots (with vinegar and mustard).

I am 25% Irish, after all.

 

Roasted veggies with different herbs…

and lots of kale chips. I outdid myself with the kale chips this weekend. Ugh, can’t imagine popping another one of those crispy bastards into the old trap. In my short-lived cleanse, a couple delicious discoveries were made…. scallions (yum!) and tahini sauce (holy hell). For some reason, I’ve always opted out of tahini sauce which was a biiiiiiig mistake. As bizarre as it sounds, I can definitely see this being a trigger food for me. It’s creamy and amazing (that sounds dirty).

In the many hours of downtime this weekend, I read over some old journals. Turns out I’m just as screwed up as I was 10-15 years ago. 🙂  Red box and I bonded a bit as it’s packed with quality flicks right now. Like Crazy (second time seeing it) was really good. It does an incredible job portraying a realistic relationship and connection. Many people can probably relate in some way.  I love Felicity Jones; she’s adorable.

The Greene  was also good. Young Adult…not so much. It was  disappointing and was turned off halfway through.

So there you have it folks…. getting wild and crazy like usual.

Tell me your fun stories from this weekend so I can live vicariously through you.

March 19, 2012 - Posted by | Cleanse, Detox, Food, Movies

10 Comments »

  1. I most definitely did not get wild and crazy. On Friday and Saturday I went to a horse farm, deep in the mountains of North Carolina, and went to a retreat. It was fun and awesome, but it was more about personal growth (re: crying my eyes out) than gettin’ wild and crazy. I did drink too much wine at dinner last night, if that counts.

    Comment by jen | March 19, 2012 | Reply

    • Ohhhhh, that sounds wonderful!!!

      Comment by lpskins | March 19, 2012 | Reply

  2. Yay, Lindsey updated!!!! We-I’ve missed your blog updates……………..your blog could also be titled, Keeping it Real!

    I am just enjoying walking now that Minnesota has had temps in the high 70s, woot, bring it Spring!

    Have a good day madam!

    Comment by Amy | March 19, 2012 | Reply

    • Hi AMY!!! Do you have a Minnesota accent???

      Comment by lpskins | March 19, 2012 | Reply

      • Ha, I don’t sound like people in the movie Fargo……………everyone in the metro area laughs about the accent, mostly small towns here have……………..:)
        How about you? Do you sound like Good Will Hunting……? I bet not!

        Comment by Amy | March 19, 2012 | Reply

        • Lol, no I’m not from Mass originally but believe me, there are MANY Good WIll Huntings around here. And I think it’s pretty hot 🙂

          Comment by lpskins | March 20, 2012 | Reply

          • I love that movie, ha……………….”how do you like them apples?”
            I’m going to school to finish my Associate Degree and there’s a guy from NJ, sounds spot on like Mark Wahlberg, I love it! 🙂

            Comment by Amy | March 20, 2012

  3. Friday night, my friends and I climbed out of the window of a 7 floor building onto its roof… we got an awesome view of Paris by night at 1AM;following day, celebrated my birthday with wine, food and wine…

    Comment by Claire | March 19, 2012 | Reply

    • CLAIRE!!! I’m jealous…. hope your birthday was fab.

      Comment by lpskins | March 19, 2012 | Reply

  4. WHERE ARE YOU 😦 😦

    Comment by slysyndrome | June 1, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

