Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Big day.

Today is very special. Why you ask? Well it’s Ellie Rats birthday of course!  I can’t believe she is only two; feels like I’ve had her forever. Happy birthday to (one of) the love of my life.

I haven’t done anything to celebrate her birth yet but I think we’ll hit up Petco for something special.

My house smells SO good right now because I have butternut squash in the oven. I simply sliced it up and sprinkled with canola oil, cinnamon, pumpkin spice, cayenne, brown sugar and salt. I envision some almond butter in the mix too, HEAB style!

I cannot believe it’s only 12:30. Melissa and I ran 12 miles at 7:00 this morning in preparation for the Chilly Half marathon in two weeks. It was only 39 degrees when we left the house but the crispness felt really good after the first mile.

Post run came Trader Joe’s. That place is a total shit show on the weekends and it’s really a fight to the finish. Don’t worry, I know how to navigate the aisles without getting rammed in the ankles. So here’s my weekly grocery haul. Our fridge was empty so I dropped 98 bucks— its way too easy to go overboard there.

Dry stuff–

Bread (is bread dry considered stuff?), pasta sauce, salsa, BBQ sauce, whole wheat couscous, quinoa, tomato soup, veg broth, dog treats, ricola cough drops, Clif Bars, salsa.

Cold Stuff–

Cage free eggs, organic beef, tofu, tempeh, greek yogurt, goat cheese and two kinds of hummus–  Edamame and Cilantro/jalapeno.

Produce–

baby potato medley, cauliflower, 2 bags green beans, tomatoes, slaw, avocado, Portobello mushrooms, asparagus, carrots, dates beetles and an eggplant. (I went a little wild in this section.)

AND….. drum roll please….. the biggest, fattest spaghetti and butternut squash one can lift.

 

I put the avocado in there for size comparison.

 

Trader Joes doesn’t charge but the pound, it’s a set price. I don’t know who the donkeys are who pick out the tiny squash but it sure ain’t me!

I sure hope the kids don’t come around these parts tonight because all I have to offer is squash guys. Mwahahahahaahha.

Who’s dressing up like a hoochie mama tonight? Who hates Halloween like this girl?


October 30, 2010 Posted by | dogs, Food, Friends, fun, Recipes, running | 6 Comments