Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Sure is quiet around here.

Not gonna lie- my abs were already sore this morning from only one day of WMM challenge. My good friend Ali jumped on board yesterday so she is posting her daily moves on my workout page. We will be seeing each other for the next two weekends which means a partner in crime during the abs routine. Sweet.

New England is getting hammered with snow. My friend and I were supposed to go see Precious today but we both bailed due to fear of driving in the white stuff. Maybe Len and I will hit up that restaurant that we planned to eat at yesterday. Speaking of Len, my heart broke for him last night/ I wanted to kill him. He went out with a buddy and walked in the door at 3:45 am.  Holy crumb cake! Who stays out that late? Turns out, the cabby he was riding home with got into a car accident and Len had to walk about three miles home in the middle of the night, in frigid temps, in the snow in wind. What made me mad was that he didn’t call me to pick him up!!!! Hello??? He didn’t want to wake me or make me drive in the snow. Poor guy. He was a popsicle by the time he came in the door.  But seriously Len, don’t ever do that again.

I looked into hemp seeds and they are pretty good for you, as it turns out. “Hemp seeds contain all 10 Essential Amino Acids (EAA’s) – the building blocks of protein. They’re also rich in naturally balanced Omega-3 and Omega-6 Essential Fatty Acids (EFA’s). Additionally, hemp is high in magnesium, iron, potassium, fiber and phytonutrients, plus natural antioxidants like vitamin E.” SOURCE

What’s on the agenda for everyone today?  I have some paperwork type errands to do today but that’s about it. Being snowed in makes it really difficult to start moving. I’m in the mood for a green monster but the house is still asleep… I shall wait.

January 3, 2010 - Posted by | Food, Friends, Green Monster, The Boyfriend

8 Comments »

  1. Cute blog! I saw Precious last week, it’s so good, though sad. As for waking the house when your making a green monster, I say do it! I make one every morning, and my roomie hates it, but hey – my health is important!

    Comment by Michelle | January 3, 2010 | Reply

    • I’m still dying to see it!

      Comment by lpskins | January 8, 2010 | Reply

  2. Maybe I’m doing something wrong because I wasn’t sore. I’m not using any weight for the torso twists…are you? and the plank ups…both legs down. Perhaps I should step it up…

    Comment by Ali | January 3, 2010 | Reply

    • Both my legs are down for the push up planks-let’s get real here. As for the twists, I used a can of soup yesterday and a jug of maple syrup for today. Also, you have more muscle built up from yoga. I’m starting from scratch.

      Comment by lpskins | January 3, 2010 | Reply

  3. I need to lose weight especially around the belly! I just realized how out of shape I am because I did a little shoveling and holy neck and leg muscles are starting to ake! Poor Justin did the entire driveway! Advil…here I come!

    Comment by Katelyn | January 3, 2010 | Reply

  4. week one of ww weigh in…down 2.1 pounds. totally psyched, especially since i ate like a fat kid on new years.

    my excuse for the day…it is too cold, snowy, and windy to go to the gym. today is my last day of excuses. tomorrow is back to the gym.

    Comment by jenn graves | January 3, 2010 | Reply

    • Way to go sista!!! Proud of you.

      Comment by lpskins | January 3, 2010 | Reply

  5. Awww– your poor guy! That sucks!

    Thanks for the info on hemp seeds!

    Comment by Anna | January 3, 2010 | Reply


Leave a comment