Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Adventures in hiking

Saturdays hike was only three miles but we were all sweating pretty good. The Summer weather just didn’t want to disappear apparently. Our hiking crew was fun and we chit chatted the entire way up and down. I ran 9 miles that morning so I was really only in it for the company. Truth be told, the only thing on my mind was the vegetable lasagna and beer that our friends Allison and Chad had waiting for us at their home.

Post hike we gathered at their house and we (I) ate and ate and ate. We had chips and salsa, veggies and dip and pretzels for appetizers. It’s impossible for me to stop eating when there’s a spread of food in front of me. How do people actually stop? I mean really, I need to know. We also had several selections of amazing beer. Folks, I can’t imagine being pregnant in the Fall and missing out on these wonderful brews.  So good. Pumpkin beer is something to dream about. My friend Meg made an incredible Autumn Sangria but unfortunately I didn’t get to indulge since I was the DD.

The main course was homemade veggie lasagna and sauce. Chad made a special sauce for me and a meatball sauce for the others. How sweet was that?

Thanks Chad!

We also had olive bread and a wonderful fresh salad. After dinner we could not move. Somehow we managed to sneak in homemade apple crisp. Thanks Allison and Chad for putting so much effort into our amazing day!!

And I'm bloated.

The End!

Don't ask.

September 28, 2010 - Posted by | Food, Friends, fun

8 Comments »

  1. Sounds like a fun day and fun night. I want the feast you ate!

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | September 28, 2010 | Reply

  2. Yeah I have a problem not eating food if it’s sitting right in front of me also. I have to physically get up and move away from it.

    Comment by Kelly | September 28, 2010 | Reply

  3. I love autumn beers, too. Or I like the concept of them. I tried Dogfish Head’s pumpkin and I didn’t love it. I did like it, though. Just wasn’t my favorite! I am so jealous of your new england fall, by the way. I definitely need to take a trip up there.

    Comment by Astrid | September 28, 2010 | Reply

  4. Lol…I think about optimal pregnancy time too, according to alcohol. But I love to drink in all seasons. Sigh.

    Comment by Anna | September 28, 2010 | Reply

  5. OHMIGOSH that last photo cracked me up…yes, i’m a 12 year old boy at heart 🙂

    Comment by Heather (Heather's Dish) | September 28, 2010 | Reply

  6. I agree with eating a ton when it is out. How do people do it!

    Comment by Jacqui | September 28, 2010 | Reply

  7. I’m not good at stopping when there’s a spread of food out either. Let me know when you find out how to stop! 😉

    Comment by homecookedem | September 28, 2010 | Reply

  8. Yeah, so far this fall I’ve bought 5 different kinds of pumpkin beers and keep having taste tests to see which is best… really, this is just an excuse to buy and drink lots of pumpkin beer ;).

    Comment by cookeatburn | September 28, 2010 | Reply


Leave a comment