Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Finally..

…Managed to get up at the crack to go for a run with Erin. I was parked outside of her house promptly at 5:30 this morning. Thankfully, there were no prostitutes around; they tend to like my car. We ran/walked our 5 mile loop-running at least three and walking the rest. There is nothing better than finishing up at run as the sun rises. Winter can be very challenging to run in–for obvious reasons such as weather and also because it’s tough to motivate in the darkness. I actually prefer running in the dark, though I’d never do it alone. Two winters ago (when I lived in the South End, close to Erin) we were hardcore in the winter. We’d literally meet at 5:15 regardless of the weather. I’ll never forget the first time we ran in below zero temps. Obviously we had no clue what the weather was that morning and certainly hadn’t prepared for it. I went out without gloves and and a hat. The wind was torturous and there was not a soul in sight. By the time I got back from the run, I could not feel anything. I remember taking a shower to thaw out but even the hottest water temperature still felt luke warm. Turns out Erin laid in bed shivering for three hours before her body went back to normal. Moral of the story, don’t be a douche and go running unprepared.

I’m thinking about making my very first green monster this morning but my stomach is churning just thinking about it. Spinach in a blender puts my comfort level over the edge. I’ve got all the right ingredient but still…..

FIGHT THE SUGAR CRACK CHALLENGE starts today. We’ll touch back tonight to see how everyone did and is feeling. I know there’s a sugar withdrawal headache in my future. Good luck everyone. Remember it’s only 7 days… We can totally do this.

December 15, 2009 - Posted by | Fight the crack, Food, running

10 Comments »

  1. As long as you don’t overdo it on the spinach and you have some nice sweet banana in there, I promise you won’t taste it! Promise 😀

    And girl, you were loco running without a hat and gloves in sub zero weather! My fingers freeze up in anything under 20 even with gloves on! They’re very reliable though… first 1/2 mile, fine, second 1/2 mile, frozen, third 1/2 mile, fine again.

    Comment by Kristie Lynn | December 15, 2009 | Reply

    • hahah, kristie. Love your play by play of the frosty tips! Seriously about the green monster? I have super ripe bananas-maybe I’ll freeze them and use them as cubes. How much spinach is too much?

      Comment by lpskins | December 15, 2009 | Reply

  2. Great job getting motivated that early….good luck with the sugar free days!!

    Comment by Jacqui | December 15, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Jacqui-I already scoped out your lovely chocolates for the day. I love that kind!

      Comment by lpskins | December 15, 2009 | Reply

  3. I was a MAJOR green monster skeptic, but there are actually delish!

    And I really love running in the cold for some reason, the air is so refreshing! But i think about 15-20 degrees is as low as im going!!

    Comment by quarterlifewellness | December 15, 2009 | Reply

    • Totally understandable about the lower temps, Jill. I think anything below 20 is torture. People seem to love the green monster but it is just so creepy sounding and looking. Maybe tomorrow…. or Thursday.

      Comment by lpskins | December 15, 2009 | Reply

  4. still going strong on the no sugar! WOO WOO!!!!! running in the cold is the best. you somehow go faster…maybe coz you need to pee more. =D

    Comment by traynharder23 | December 15, 2009 | Reply

    • I think we just commented on each others page at the same time. How bizarre!! Yep, still going strong. Cheers to that.

      Comment by lpskins | December 15, 2009 | Reply

  5. Wow! Good for you! I am about to go run in the 15 degree temps (hopefully, if my husband doesn’t stop me). I’ll remember to wear a hat and gloves, LOL 🙂

    Comment by kilax | December 15, 2009 | Reply

    • Make him go with you!

      Comment by lpskins | December 15, 2009 | Reply


Leave a comment