Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

I think all the food I ate this weekend is spilling up against my ovaries. Ouch!!

March 14, 2010 Posted by | Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Long time no talk

Hi everyone! Hope you all had a great weekend. Our place in Maine didn’t have internet which was bittersweet. I missed not being able to blog and following all my bloggie buddies. I feel out of the loop now.

I forgot my camera on Friday night and for lunch on Saturday. We had a great weekend and indulged, a lot. Friday night we went to a chain type of restaurant and ordered lots of beers and dinner. There were only two vegetarian options, one of them being the garden reuben. I’m pretty sure it was a garden burger brand topped with sauerkrout and the other reuben toppings. I passed up the fries for a salad with blue cheese. For some reason I was all about the blue cheese this weekend. We all got a little tipsy before passing out around 11. Breakfast on Saturday included a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Below is a narley looking picture but believe me, they were good.

This was a new bread which was quickly dubbed, "bark" by the men because it was so hard and dense.

We got to the mountain around 9:30. Our friends took off skiing while Alison and I rented equipment and got our gear together. We got equipment, a lift ticket and a 1.5 hour lesson for 85 bucks. We thought that was a pretty good deal. We spent the whole morning on the bunny slope with three-year olds whizzing past us. Sad. There were 5 of us in the lesson, which I thought was pretty wasteful. Our instructor didn’t do much but it was still nice to have him there. We boarded until about one before hitting up the Foggy Goggle for lunch. I ordered a salad with blue cheese (told you) and a flat bread thing. It was supposed to come with a bunch of cool veggies like artichokes but really it was bread and cheese. The only other vegetarian option was a veggie sandwich of some sort. Post lunch we hit the chair lift (we were SO scared) for our first and only run on a real mountain trail. It took us about 40 minutes to get down it and boy did we laugh. The chair lift had to completely slow down when we got on and again when we got off the damn thing. The guy could tell by our faces that we were newbies I guess. I learned that I ride goofy, though my board was set up for regular. Alison didn’t know how to stop and basically crawled down the mountain. One of my greatest joys in life is watching people fall so I basically laughed the whole way down. Don’t get me wrong, I took my fair share of diggers too.

Joe the bag check guy took a picture of us. We were best friends by the end of the day.

After the mountain we hit up The Matterhorn for beers and more fried food. I was already feeling bloated from all the beer Friday night but last night shenanigans tipped the bloatation scale. Beers included blue moon, #9 and a blend of Guinness and #9. Appetizers included garlic knots and wings, though I did not partake in the latter. Dinner was a salad with goat cheese, dried cranberries, walnuts, croutons and balsamic dressing. What’s a night out without dessert? Only three of us wanted dessert so we ordered a peanut butter pie and some frozen coffee/toffee/cellulite inducing things. Mmm mmm good. Gobbled that shiz right up.

Would you expect my friends to be any different?

By the time we got home I was exhausted. Sadly we lost an hour due to the time change and we were all pretty grumpy upon waking. We hit up a local diner before hitting the road. I ordered dry wheat toast and  an egg white omelette with veggies and swiss cheese. Good stuff. I could not wait to get home to see the little rit-rat. We missed her so much. I love going away and I love coming home.

Currently, I am procrastinating a mid-term due Thursday. Why do I do this to myself??? Not going to lie, my calves are aching from snow boarding. There’s nothing comfortable about those boots.

How are you guys? What was the best part of your weekend?

***Sorry there was no weigh in this weekend. Just assume there was a gain.

March 14, 2010 Posted by | dogs, Food, Friends, fun, The Boyfriend | 13 Comments