Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

It’s all about Self-Care.

We’re back in Boston for the morning then headed to Newport, RI. I think New England is amazed at our beautiful weather. I guess I didn’t realize how much I appreciate and miss the sunshine. Today is supposed to be in the 40’s which is heavenly. My absolute perfect temperature is in the 60’s. I hate the heat so once it starts creeping into the 80’s this chick gets cranky.

On the way to Burke mountain yesterday I snacked on oat bran in a peanut butter jar. Apparently I’ve been doing the jar things all wrong because I never got why it was so good. I did it up right yesterday and enjoyed bits of PB with every bite. Yum.

We hit the mountain at 9:30 only to find that there wasn’t any snow for snowshoeing. The boys went on their way and left the girls to fend for themselves. We did that by finding the nearest salon and booking a massage. I was supposed to get a massage next weekend but we legit had all day to kill so I had to take one for the team. (Sorry Allison!) I went with the 60 minute classic massage and asked her to only work on my shoulders and back because that’s where I hold my stress. She wasn’t having that and worked on everything, Then she asked if I wanted my stomach done. Ummm, would she massage my fat rolls? No thanks, I replied graciously. I quickly visualized getting my belly massaged with my boobs no longer covered by the sheet. I thought it would be funny to say, “Can you massage my boobs?” Don’t worry, that never came out but it did make me crack up inside. I wonder if anyone asks that.

For the first 20 minutes I had a hard time relaxing. As she massaged each part of my body, I couldn’t help but think about what flaws she was noticing. I felt self-conscious and had a hard time quieting my mind. I kept telling myself that she works on every shape and size and that I’ll never even see her again.  At the end of the hour I was SO relaxed. She said my lower back is a total mess. Not quite sure what that means or what I should do about it but I’m glad she worked out the kinks. Look at how beautiful this place was. If Len and I ever get married, I want to do it around there.

Stepping Stone Spa

Beautiful porch

Panoramic Mountain Views

They could make their massage rooms more Zen.

I have no shame. This is when she knocked.

We met the boys back at the lodge around 1:30. Burke had the whole outside set up: picnic tables, grills, music. We ate and drank for the next 4 hours before calling it a night. I packed hummus (don’t buy this kind, it’s not good), tomatoes, carrots, and dark chocolate. We also snacked on those cheese cracker things. I drank 3 Harpoon IPA’s. Earlier in the afternoon I ate a white chocolate macadamia nut Clif Bar. Everyone was right, that flavor is the bomb.

Cedars Tomato and Basil hummus = ass

x3

Too cool for school

Len noticed some lady back right into our car as she was leaving the mountain. Luckily she got out instead of taking off and they exchanged insurance information. Oops! Glad it wasn’t our fault. What seemed like 10 hours later, we arrived home to Boston and ordered pad thai for dinner, no fish sauce for me please. It was so good. Can’t wait to have it for dinner!

I’m a huge fan of self-care and believe it’s necessary for our mental health. What’s your favorite way to treat yourself?

P.S. I weighed in this morning.

March 7, 2010 Posted by | Clif Bar, Family, Food, Friends, fun, The Boyfriend | 12 Comments