Goodies Galore

Learning to focus less on dieting and more on overall health and wellness

Week of Review in Therapy

In therapy last week, we made two goals to focus on:

1. keeping a  food diary

2. Resist the sweets I usually cave into and play close attention to how I feel after saying NO.

I’m happy to say that I have not had any sweets since LAST Monday; seven days without cookies, candy, cakes, etc. I noticed that I’ve been compensating with cheese and bread. Saturday night I ate WAY too much cheese. I did this well after I was full, because it was there and I wanted sweets. Sunday night was the only time I was literally pissed that I couldn’t eat sweets. I wanted to bust into those damn mini eggs so bad and it annoyed me that I couldn’t. I reminded myself that I feel 7 thousand times better since last Monday and that I know exactly how the mini eggs taste. I’ve had them many times. That reasoning seemed to work for a little  but I did scope out something else to hold my attention: a hummus, cheese and ketchup sandwich.

This was after dinner. Again, after I was full and didn’t need anything more to eat. I was filling an emotional void.

This is a journey.

Although I’m feeling good about my accomplishment, I know that if I picked up a single piece of chocolate it would be binge city. Mimi says that eventually we will work on feeling safe eating everything in moderation, but for now I should keep doing what I’m doing.

Len and I skipped boot camp yesterday and today. I feel so guilty about it but not guilty enough to get out there in the rain. I hit the gym up today for a few miles so I feel better.  Eats so far today include:

breakfast:toast with pb

egg, veggie and cheese omelette with strawberries and bread

I have all day off so I hope to actually get things accomplished. Boredom= eating.

March 30, 2010 - Posted by | Boot camp, eating disorder, Food, goals, The Boyfriend

17 Comments »

  1. Seems like therapy is going well and that it is challenging you! At the start of a journey like this, it is almost impossible to safely eat everything in moderation, because there still is that void and no positive coping mechanisms to fill it with. Eventually you will get there. Congrats on coming up with very sound logic in regards to the mini eggs (which are a peronal favorite of mine). You do know how they taste.
    How is the food diary coming along? I don’t like them because they make me obsess, but there pretty much is one inside my head.
    I am glad you are staying somewhat positive!

    Comment by Astrid | March 30, 2010 | Reply

  2. Seems like this is going well for you! Nice self discussion to resist the mini eggs. I wouldn’t have gone to boot camp in this rain either.

    Comment by Kelly | March 30, 2010 | Reply

  3. Your breakfast this morning looks delicious! You’re doing well adding breakfast into the mix? I also like how you’re handling your desire for mini eggs – that you know how they taste already. I hadn’t thought of that and will try to employ it next time I get a craving for a trigger food!

    Comment by Lisa @ Early Morning Run | March 30, 2010 | Reply

  4. I’m so glad you’ve been able to say no. As much as it sucks, I think that learning to eat well and learning what not to eat takes time and practice. For me it’s like an addiction: the first couple of weeks are horrible, but then my body gets used to it and it’s OK after that. I’m thinking about you and hoping you stay strong! You’re doing so well!

    Comment by Heather | March 30, 2010 | Reply

  5. Great self reflection. It’s so true about the mini-eggs. I’m glad you’re doing well.

    Comment by MelissaNibbles | March 30, 2010 | Reply

  6. Good for you for battling it out in your head about the mini eggs (my personal favorite, too). All of these steps will add up and one day, you will have the binge eating conquered!

    Comment by Christie {Honoring Health} | March 30, 2010 | Reply

  7. Wow! Congrats on the week- that is a huge accomplishment!

    Comment by Amy @ Second City Randomness | March 30, 2010 | Reply

  8. Your omelette looks like a professional masterpiece. I could eat it right off the screen. Nice one, sister.

    Comment by Shleigh | March 30, 2010 | Reply

  9. Way to go with the mini-egg battle!! It’s great that you’re confronting the emotions that cause you to binge in the first place. I think it’s something we can all learn from, since emotional eating is SO COMMON!! Best of luck with the rest of the week!! xoxo

    Comment by Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine | March 30, 2010 | Reply

  10. I feel like a biatch for sending you that Easter candy right when you are trying to cut out sugar!!! I’m sorry!!! I didn’t think about that!

    Sounds like you are doing awesome at avoiding it though!

    Comment by Anna@ Newlywed, Newly Veg | March 30, 2010 | Reply

    • Oh my god, no! It’s a great test of my willpower. Can’t hide from sweets forever.

      Comment by lpskins | March 30, 2010 | Reply

  11. that omelet looks soooo amazing!!!!

    Comment by Salah | March 30, 2010 | Reply

  12. I am really proud of you for staying strong. You are right it is a journey and eventually you will get there. I promise!! 🙂 That omelete looks awesome! 🙂

    Comment by Kelly | March 30, 2010 | Reply

  13. That hummus, ketchup, and cheese sammie looks really good! I need to try that out!!

    I struggle with many of the same things you do. I too cannot eat one single piece of chocolate, no way no how. And I eat to fill emotional voids too… sometimes I don’t even know why they’re there. So weird, but like you said, it’s a journey and we just gotta keep on keepin on! Hang in there! 🙂

    Comment by homecookedem | March 30, 2010 | Reply

  14. Go chick – 7 days is amazing. You know the whole, “and on the seventh day, God rested” thing? Well, on the seventh day, Alice is face down in a bowl of cake frosting. My trouble is I totally deprive everything – it sounds like you’re balancing out the lack of sweets with yummy eats still (who cares about the cheese OD, we’ve all been there, sharp cheddar and I have history).

    Hells yeah it’s hard to eat a single piece of chocolate. I find dark chocolate helps me because I’m not totally crazy about it, but it still satisfies my sweet tooth.

    Comment by Alice | March 30, 2010 | Reply

  15. It sounds like you and Mimi are doing some hard work. I’m glad you’re feeling more on track right now, and I hope you can get this thing figured out. I know you will!

    Comment by Lily @ Lily's Health Pad | March 30, 2010 | Reply

  16. linds I think I just puked a little in my mouth looking at that ketchup hummus thing! You and your damn ketchup. Are you a tomato hater? I cant remember.
    Im so proud of you with the no sweet thing!! wish I had that kind of will power!

    xoxo

    Comment by Trina Akiyama | March 31, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

